A Just-Before-the-New Year Beginning Anew

A Just-Before-the-New Year Beginning Anew

Discussion date: Thu, Dec 31, 2009 at our weekly Thursday evening practice

Dear Still Water Friends,

Many of us know Beginning Anew as a way of deep sharing with those with whom we live our lives. We come together as a couple, as friends, or as a community. We settle ourselves. Then with care and tenderness we share our appreciations for each other, our regrets for unmindful actions (or our failure to take appropriate actions), our suffering and our difficulties. We recognize our shortcomings, and we nourish the intention to live in the present moment and to act with love and compassion.

Thich Nhat Hanh suggests that the beginning of a new year is a wonderful time to do a beginning anew with ourselves. In a just-before-New Year’s Dharma talk in 1997 Thay said:

Before the year ends and before the New Year begins, we may practice sitting meditation and walking meditation in order to see how we can begin anew, how we can prepare ourselves. So that the New Year will be a much better year than this one. Before the New Year begins, we can already have everything renewed. Of course we have made mistakes. Of course we have been not very skillful. Of course we have made ourselves suffer. Of course we have made the people around us suffer. But that does not prevent us from beginning anew and to make things much better next year, or even the next moment. We should look at our suffering in such a way that the suffering can become a positive thing. Of course you have made some mistakes. You have been unskillful. All of us are the same. We always make mistakes. We are very often unskillful. But that does not prevent us from improving, from beginning anew, from transforming.

Thay also suggested that on New Year’s Eve we may wish to do the Touchings of the Earth as a beginning anew, to affirm our connections with those who have come before, and with those who are close to us:

It is very important to touch our ancestors. When we touch our ancestors, we touch ourselves. We know that we are one. If we know that we are from the same roots, then we know that we are one. After having bowed to our ancestors, we turn around and bow to each other and embrace each other and forgive each other for the unskillfulness that has been committed in the past. That is also beginning anew. It would not mean anything if you bow to your ancestors and you don’t forgive your brother or your sister. … Celebrating New Year, we have to celebrate in such a spirit. Touching our ancestors, blood ancestors and spiritual ancestors, we have an opportunity to realize that we are brothers and sisters to each other.

The texts of the Touchings of the Earth are available on our web site. I invite you to practice with them this week.

I wish you a mindful, heartful, and joyous New Year.

Mitchell Ratner
Senior Teacher

 

in: Dharma Topics
Discussion Date: Thu, Dec 31, 2009


Share:

July 2022
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, June 26 Mon, June 27

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, June 28 Wed, June 29

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, June 30 Fri, July 1 Sat, July 2

Mindful Artmaking

Sun, July 3 Mon, July 4

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, July 5 Wed, July 6

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, July 7 Fri, July 8 Sat, July 9
Sun, July 10 Mon, July 11

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, July 12 Wed, July 13

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, July 14 Fri, July 15 Sat, July 16
Sun, July 17 Mon, July 18

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, July 19 Wed, July 20

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, July 21 Fri, July 22 Sat, July 23
Sun, July 24 Mon, July 25

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, July 26 Wed, July 27

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, July 28 Fri, July 29 Sat, July 30
Sun, July 31 Mon, August 1

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, August 2 Wed, August 3

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, August 4 Fri, August 5 Sat, August 6

Mindful Artmaking