Dharma Topic: Clay Pots, Metaphors, and Mindful Speech

Dharma Topic: Clay Pots, Metaphors, and Mindful Speech

Discussion date: Thu, Aug 10, 2006 at our weekly Thursday evening practice

Dear Still Water Friends,

Dear Friends,

Tomorrow, Thursday evening, after our meditation, we will recite thefive mindfulness trainings and focus our dharma discussion on thefourth training: mindful speech and deep listening.

Some time ago, an image came to me as I was thinking aboutrelationships. I began to imagine two people in a relationship asworking together to shape a container, within which communication andconnection can occur. Each person has one hand on a lump of clay, andtogether they shape it into a pot, perhaps on a potter’s wheel. Can onebe more responsible than the other for the shape of the container? Idon’t think so, because every feature of the pot that one person addsaffects — and is affected by — the features that the other adds. Ithink the same is true of relationships. Each of us reflects off of theother, and we respond to each other in real time, each constantlyshifting our approach, our energy, and our viewpoint in response to theother.

I like to think of each person as having 100% of the responsibility forthe container — the quality of the relationship. I know from my ownexperience that when both people commit to and take responsibility forcreating and maintaining connection, a deeply enriching relationshipcan develop. On the other hand, if I decide that I’ll only take as muchresponsibility as the other person, the relationship may beshortchanged because I don’t truly, consciously strive for the bondthat I really want.

The clay pot image, and the idea that we each have 100% of theresponsibility for the pot, always leaves me with a feeling of hope andoptimism about the possibilities for connection in my relationships.

So, here’s my question for you. Do you have a metaphor or an image ofhow you see communication and connection occurring in yourrelationships? How does that image make you feel?

I look forward to seeing you tomorrow evening and exploring the realm of conscious, mindful communication.

Warm wishes,
Peter Cook

in: Dharma Topics
Discussion Date: Thu, Aug 10, 2006


Share:

December 2022
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, November 27

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, November 28

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, November 29

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Wed, November 30

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, December 1

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, December 2

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, December 3

Mindful Artmaking

Sun, December 4

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, December 5

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, December 6

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Wed, December 7

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, December 8

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, December 9

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, December 10
Sun, December 11

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, December 12

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, December 13

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Wed, December 14

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, December 15

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, December 16

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, December 17
Sun, December 18

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, December 19

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, December 20

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Wed, December 21

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, December 22

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, December 23

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, December 24
Sun, December 25

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, December 26

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, December 27

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Wed, December 28

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, December 29

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, December 30

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, December 31