Dharma Topic: Freedom and Commitment

Dharma Topic: Freedom and Commitment

Discussion date: Thu, Jul 13, 2006 at our weekly Thursday evening practice

Dear Still Water Friends,

I used to think of commitment as something that limited myfreedom, something stifling and restrictive. Since learning aboutmindfulness, however, I have come to discover that a great sense ofease and liberation can accompany a commitment. In choosing to devotemyself to certain ideals, practices, people and communities, I havefound an increased ability to be present with them. Once committed, myattachment to a separate self begins to loosen its hold.

  • Have you found freedom in commitment? (Commitment to relationships, community, mindfulness, or to the trainings themselves?)
  • What fears does commitment stir in you?

We will address these questions and other aspects of sexualresponsibility when we discuss the third mindfulness training This Thursday following meditation.

The Third Mindfulness Training:

Aware of the suffering caused by sexual misconduct, Iam committed to cultivating responsibility and learning ways to protectthe safety and integrity of individuals, couples, families and society.I am determined not to engage in sexual relations without love and along-term commitment. To preserve the happiness of myself and others, Iam determined to respect my commitments and the commitments of others.I will do everything in my power to protect children from sexual abuseand to prevent couples and families from being broken by sexualmisconduct.

You are invited to join us this Thursday, July 13, for our meditation and our program. The best times to join us are:

  • Just before the first sitting at 7 pm;
  • At 7:25, at the beginning of walking meditation; or,
  • At 7:35, at the beginning of the second sitting.

Warm wishes,
Rachel Anderson

in: Dharma Topics
Discussion Date: Thu, Jul 13, 2006


Share:

August 2022
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, July 31 Mon, August 1

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, August 2 Wed, August 3

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, August 4 Fri, August 5 Sat, August 6

Mindful Artmaking

Sun, August 7 Mon, August 8

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, August 9 Wed, August 10

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, August 11 Fri, August 12 Sat, August 13
Sun, August 14 Mon, August 15

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, August 16 Wed, August 17

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, August 18 Fri, August 19 Sat, August 20
Sun, August 21 Mon, August 22

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, August 23 Wed, August 24

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, August 25 Fri, August 26 Sat, August 27
Sun, August 28 Mon, August 29

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, August 30 Wed, August 31

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, September 1 Fri, September 2 Sat, September 3

Mindful Artmaking