Dharma Topic: Freedom and Commitment

Dharma Topic: Freedom and Commitment

Discussion date: Thu, Jul 13, 2006 at our weekly Thursday evening practice

Dear Still Water Friends,

I used to think of commitment as something that limited myfreedom, something stifling and restrictive. Since learning aboutmindfulness, however, I have come to discover that a great sense ofease and liberation can accompany a commitment. In choosing to devotemyself to certain ideals, practices, people and communities, I havefound an increased ability to be present with them. Once committed, myattachment to a separate self begins to loosen its hold.

  • Have you found freedom in commitment? (Commitment to relationships, community, mindfulness, or to the trainings themselves?)
  • What fears does commitment stir in you?

We will address these questions and other aspects of sexualresponsibility when we discuss the third mindfulness training This Thursday following meditation.

The Third Mindfulness Training:

Aware of the suffering caused by sexual misconduct, Iam committed to cultivating responsibility and learning ways to protectthe safety and integrity of individuals, couples, families and society.I am determined not to engage in sexual relations without love and along-term commitment. To preserve the happiness of myself and others, Iam determined to respect my commitments and the commitments of others.I will do everything in my power to protect children from sexual abuseand to prevent couples and families from being broken by sexualmisconduct.

You are invited to join us this Thursday, July 13, for our meditation and our program. The best times to join us are:

  • Just before the first sitting at 7 pm;
  • At 7:25, at the beginning of walking meditation; or,
  • At 7:35, at the beginning of the second sitting.

Warm wishes,
Rachel Anderson

in: Dharma Topics
Discussion Date: Thu, Jul 13, 2006


Share:

January 2023
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, January 1

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, January 2

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, January 3

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, January 4

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, January 5

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, January 6

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, January 7

Mindful Artmaking

Sun, January 8

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, January 9

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, January 10

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, January 11

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, January 12

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, January 13

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, January 14
Sun, January 15

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, January 16

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, January 17

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, January 18

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, January 19

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, January 20

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, January 21
Sun, January 22

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, January 23

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, January 24

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, January 25

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, January 26

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, January 27

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, January 28
Sun, January 29

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, January 30

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, January 31

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, February 1

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, February 2

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, February 3

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, February 4

Mindful Artmaking