Dharma Topic: Gratitude and Love – A Thanksgiving Message

Dharma Topic: Gratitude and Love – A Thanksgiving Message

Discussion date: Thu, Nov 25, 2004 at our weekly Thursday evening practice

Dear Still Water Friends,

We will not be having a Thursday evening gathering this Thursday, 25 November,because of the Thanksgiving holiday — our most "Buddhist" ofholidays.  If we are together with friends and family, it is a wonderfultime to practice love and compassion. In the quote below, Brother David SteindlRast reflects on the connection between gratitude and love.

We grow in love when we grow in gratefulness. And we grow in gratefulness when we grow in love. Here is the link between the two: thanksgiving pivots on our willingness to go beyond our independence and to accept the give-and-take between giver and thanks-giver. But the "yes" which acknowledges our interdependence is the very "yes" to belonging, the "yes" of love. Every time we say a simple "thank you," and mean it, we practice that inner gesture of "yes." And the more difficult it is to say a grateful "yes," the more we grow by learning to say it gracefully. This sheds light on suffering and on other difficult gifts. The hardest gifts are, in a sense, the best, because they make us grow the most. (From Gratefulness: The Heart of Prayer).

Warm wishes, Happy Holiday.

Mitchell Ratner 
Senior Teacher

Discussion Date: Thu, Nov 25, 2004


Share:

July 2022
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, June 26 Mon, June 27

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, June 28 Wed, June 29

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, June 30 Fri, July 1 Sat, July 2

Mindful Artmaking

Sun, July 3 Mon, July 4

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, July 5 Wed, July 6

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, July 7 Fri, July 8 Sat, July 9
Sun, July 10 Mon, July 11

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, July 12 Wed, July 13

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, July 14 Fri, July 15 Sat, July 16
Sun, July 17 Mon, July 18

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, July 19 Wed, July 20

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, July 21 Fri, July 22 Sat, July 23
Sun, July 24 Mon, July 25

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, July 26 Wed, July 27

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, July 28 Fri, July 29 Sat, July 30
Sun, July 31 Mon, August 1

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, August 2 Wed, August 3

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, August 4 Fri, August 5 Sat, August 6

Mindful Artmaking