Dharma Topic: Gratitude and Love – A Thanksgiving Message

Dharma Topic: Gratitude and Love – A Thanksgiving Message

Discussion date: Thu, Nov 25, 2004 at our weekly Thursday evening practice

Dear Still Water Friends,

We will not be having a Thursday evening gathering this Thursday, 25 November,because of the Thanksgiving holiday — our most "Buddhist" ofholidays.  If we are together with friends and family, it is a wonderfultime to practice love and compassion. In the quote below, Brother David SteindlRast reflects on the connection between gratitude and love.

We grow in love when we grow in gratefulness. And we grow in gratefulness when we grow in love. Here is the link between the two: thanksgiving pivots on our willingness to go beyond our independence and to accept the give-and-take between giver and thanks-giver. But the "yes" which acknowledges our interdependence is the very "yes" to belonging, the "yes" of love. Every time we say a simple "thank you," and mean it, we practice that inner gesture of "yes." And the more difficult it is to say a grateful "yes," the more we grow by learning to say it gracefully. This sheds light on suffering and on other difficult gifts. The hardest gifts are, in a sense, the best, because they make us grow the most. (From Gratefulness: The Heart of Prayer).

Warm wishes, Happy Holiday.

Mitchell Ratner 
Senior Teacher

Discussion Date: Thu, Nov 25, 2004


Share:

November 2022
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, October 30 Mon, October 31

Friends in Different Places

Tue, November 1 Wed, November 2

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Thu, November 3 Fri, November 4 Sat, November 5

Mindful Artmaking

Sun, November 6 Mon, November 7

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, November 8 Wed, November 9

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Thu, November 10 Fri, November 11

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, November 12
Sun, November 13 Mon, November 14

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, November 15 Wed, November 16

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Thu, November 17 Fri, November 18

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, November 19
Sun, November 20 Mon, November 21

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, November 22 Wed, November 23

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Thu, November 24 Fri, November 25

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, November 26
Sun, November 27 Mon, November 28

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, November 29 Wed, November 30

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Thu, December 1 Fri, December 2

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, December 3

Mindful Artmaking