Dharma Topic: Loneliness and Sexual Energy

Dharma Topic: Loneliness and Sexual Energy

Discussion date: Thu, Apr 01, 2004 at our weekly Thursday evening practice

Dear Still Water Friends,

DearStill Water Friends,

 

This Thursday evening, after our 7:30 sitting, we will recite the Five Mindfulness Trainings. Our Dharma Discussion,facilitated by Marie Sheppard, will explore the third training on love and s-xualenergy (the hyphen is an attempt not to get this email blocked by spam filters).In particular we will share reflections on a phrase in the training:

 

Iwill be mindful of loneliness and s-xual suffering in myself and others and Iwill be compassionate and nonjudgmental concerning the s-xual behavior ofothers.

 

Inwhat ways does loneliness and s-xual suffering play a role in our lives?

Whatdoes it mean for each of us to be compassionate and nonjudgmental concerning thes-xual behavior of others?

Canwe be compassionate and nonjudgmental and still take actions to prevent orinterfere with certain behaviors, such as the s-xual exploitation of children?

 

Aquote from Thich Nhat Hanh on loneliness and consumption is below.

 

Pleasejoin us if you can.

 

Our 6:30 to 7:20 p.m. pre-session this week will be an Orientationto Still Water MPC and to the practice of Mindfulness. Please invite friendsand acquaintances to come. Also, consider coming yourself, to ask questions andoffer experiences.

 

Peace,

 

Mitchell

 

*********************          *******************************         *******

FromPrecepts as a Way of Life by ThichNhat Hanh (Mindfulness Bell #6)

 

Sometimeswe don’t need to consume as much as we do. But consuming has become a kind ofaddiction, because we feel so lonely. It is similar to the third and fourthprecepts. We feel lonely, and we want to engage in a conversation or a s-xualrelationship, hoping that our loneliness will go away. Drinking and eating maybe the result of our loneliness. When we feel truly alone, we may want to drinkto forget our loneliness. Loneliness is one of the afflictions of modem life.When we are lonely, we ingest food in our body and into our consciousness thatcan bring toxins into us. We watch television, read magazines or novels, or pickup the telephone. We make our condition worse by unmindful consumption.

Discussion Date: Thu, Apr 01, 2004


Share:

February 2023
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, January 29

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, January 30

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, January 31

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, February 1

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, February 2

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, February 3

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, February 4

Mindful Artmaking

Sun, February 5

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, February 6

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, February 7

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, February 8

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, February 9

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, February 10

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, February 11
Sun, February 12

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, February 13

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, February 14

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, February 15

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, February 16

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, February 17

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, February 18
Sun, February 19

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, February 20

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, February 21

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, February 22

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, February 23

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, February 24

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, February 25
Sun, February 26

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, February 27

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, February 28

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, March 1

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, March 2

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, March 3

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, March 4

Mindful Artmaking