Dharma Topic: Loneliness and Sexual Energy

Dharma Topic: Loneliness and Sexual Energy

Discussion date: Thu, Apr 01, 2004 at our weekly Thursday evening practice

Dear Still Water Friends,

DearStill Water Friends,

 

This Thursday evening, after our 7:30 sitting, we will recite the Five Mindfulness Trainings. Our Dharma Discussion,facilitated by Marie Sheppard, will explore the third training on love and s-xualenergy (the hyphen is an attempt not to get this email blocked by spam filters).In particular we will share reflections on a phrase in the training:

 

Iwill be mindful of loneliness and s-xual suffering in myself and others and Iwill be compassionate and nonjudgmental concerning the s-xual behavior ofothers.

 

Inwhat ways does loneliness and s-xual suffering play a role in our lives?

Whatdoes it mean for each of us to be compassionate and nonjudgmental concerning thes-xual behavior of others?

Canwe be compassionate and nonjudgmental and still take actions to prevent orinterfere with certain behaviors, such as the s-xual exploitation of children?

 

Aquote from Thich Nhat Hanh on loneliness and consumption is below.

 

Pleasejoin us if you can.

 

Our 6:30 to 7:20 p.m. pre-session this week will be an Orientationto Still Water MPC and to the practice of Mindfulness. Please invite friendsand acquaintances to come. Also, consider coming yourself, to ask questions andoffer experiences.

 

Peace,

 

Mitchell

 

*********************          *******************************         *******

FromPrecepts as a Way of Life by ThichNhat Hanh (Mindfulness Bell #6)

 

Sometimeswe don’t need to consume as much as we do. But consuming has become a kind ofaddiction, because we feel so lonely. It is similar to the third and fourthprecepts. We feel lonely, and we want to engage in a conversation or a s-xualrelationship, hoping that our loneliness will go away. Drinking and eating maybe the result of our loneliness. When we feel truly alone, we may want to drinkto forget our loneliness. Loneliness is one of the afflictions of modem life.When we are lonely, we ingest food in our body and into our consciousness thatcan bring toxins into us. We watch television, read magazines or novels, or pickup the telephone. We make our condition worse by unmindful consumption.

Discussion Date: Thu, Apr 01, 2004


Share:

October 2021
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, September 26 Mon, September 27

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, September 28 Wed, September 29

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, September 30

Evening Practice at Crossings

Fri, October 1

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Sat, October 2

Mindful Artmaking

Sun, October 3 Mon, October 4

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, October 5 Wed, October 6

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, October 7

Evening Practice at Crossings

Fri, October 8

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Sat, October 9
Sun, October 10 Mon, October 11

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, October 12 Wed, October 13

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, October 14

Evening Practice at Crossings

Fri, October 15

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Sat, October 16
Sun, October 17 Mon, October 18

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, October 19 Wed, October 20

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, October 21

Evening Practice at Crossings

Fri, October 22

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Sat, October 23
Sun, October 24 Mon, October 25

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, October 26 Wed, October 27

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, October 28

Evening Practice at Crossings

Fri, October 29

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Sat, October 30
Sun, October 31 Mon, November 1

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Friends in Different Places

Tue, November 2 Wed, November 3

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Thu, November 4

Evening Practice at Crossings

Fri, November 5

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Sat, November 6

Mindful Artmaking