Dharma Topic: Peace is Every Step (The Film)

Dharma Topic: Peace is Every Step (The Film)

Discussion date: Thu, Aug 17, 2006 at our weekly Thursday evening practice

Dear Still Water Friends,

During our program this Thursday we will segments from Peace is Every Step,a remarkable documentary about Thich Nhat Hanh made in 1998. Narratedby Ben Kingsley, the documentary features Thay talking about his lifeand spiritual development interspersed with photographs and films fromVietnam and the United States during the 1940s to 1970s.

The documentary ends with Thay reading his poem, Peace is every Step.

Peace is every step.
The shining red sun is my heart.
Each flower smiles with me.
How green, how fresh all that grows.
How cool the wind blows.
Peace is every step.
It turns the endless path to joy.

You are invited to join with us for our sitting and our program. The best times to join us are:

  •    Just before the first sitting at 7 pm
  •    At 7:25, at the beginning of walking meditation; or,
  •    At 7:35, at the beginning of the second sitting.

Warm wishes,

Mitchell Ratner
Senior Teacher

in: Dharma Topics
Discussion Date: Thu, Aug 17, 2006


Share:

January 2023
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, January 1

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, January 2

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, January 3

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, January 4

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, January 5

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, January 6

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, January 7

Mindful Artmaking

Sun, January 8

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, January 9

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, January 10

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, January 11

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, January 12

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, January 13

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, January 14
Sun, January 15

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, January 16

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, January 17

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, January 18

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, January 19

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, January 20

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, January 21
Sun, January 22

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, January 23

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, January 24

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, January 25

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, January 26

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, January 27

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, January 28
Sun, January 29

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, January 30

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, January 31

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, February 1

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, February 2

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, February 3

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, February 4

Mindful Artmaking