Dharma Topic: Thanksgiving and Special Still Water MPC Events

Dharma Topic: Thanksgiving and Special Still Water MPC Events

Discussion date: Thu, Nov 24, 2005 at our weekly Thursday evening practice

Dear Still Water Friends,

I always think of Thanksgiving as the most"Buddhist" of American holidays. It is a wonderful time to practicetogether love, compassion, and gratitude. To allow everyone to be with theirfamilies, the Still Water Community will not have this Thursday either itsregular morning sitting at Sangha or its evening program at Crossings.

Please note, also, that a number of special Still Waterevents are planned for the next several months, including:

New Year’s Day Brunch, January 1, 10 am, at the homeof Sandy and Rita. Save the date, more details to follow.

Still Water Spiritual Cinema — Friday January 13, 7:30p.m. We are expecting that our new monthly movie and discussion night willbegin this evening. Stay tuned for titles and more information.

Smiling Like a Buddha: An Introduction to MindfulnessPractice. Ten-week workshop begins on Monday, January 16, 7-9:00. For newand experienced practitioners. An e-flyer will go out soon. Also, see ourwebsite.

Companions for the journey — Nourishing Together OurDeep Aspirations, meeting every other Wednesday evening, 7-9:15 pm,beginning on January 30 and ending on May 22. Intended especially for those withsome experience with mindfulness practice. An e-flyer will go out soon. Also,see our website.

Nourishing Our Inner Silence: A Special Still WaterWeekend Retreat at Charter Hall, Feb. 24-26. A mainly silent retreatencouraging us to dwell fully and stably in the present moment. Details tofollow.

You may also wish to consider attending the Week-endMindfulness Retreat offered on December 9-11, 2005, by our sistercommunity, the Mindfulness Practice of Fairfax. The theme will be "OurAppointment with Life." For more information, see their website at www.mpcf.org.

Warm wishes,

Mitchell Ratner
Senior Teacher

in: Dharma Topics
Discussion Date: Thu, Nov 24, 2005


Share:

February 2024
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, January 28 Mon, January 29

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, January 30

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, January 31

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, February 1

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, February 2

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, February 3

Mindful Artmaking

Sun, February 4

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, February 5

kent

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, February 6

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, February 7

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, February 8

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, February 9

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, February 10
Sun, February 11 Mon, February 12

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, February 13

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, February 14

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, February 15

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, February 16

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, February 17
Sun, February 18

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, February 19

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, February 20

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, February 21

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, February 22

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, February 23

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, February 24
Sun, February 25 Mon, February 26

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, February 27

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, February 28

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, February 29

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, March 1

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, March 2

Mindful Artmaking