Speaking Compassionately and Mindfully to Others

Speaking Compassionately and Mindfully to Others

Discussion date: Thu, Apr 12, 2007 at our weekly Thursday evening practice

Dear Still Water Friends,

This Thursday evening, after our sitting and walking meditation, wewill recite together the five mindfulness trainings and focus ourdiscussion on the fourth training, which begins:

“Awareof the suffering caused by unmindful speech and the inability to listento others, I am committed to cultivating loving speech…”

Our dharma discussion this Thursday will focus specifically on unmindful speech and cultivating loving speech.

AlbertEinstein said a year before his death: “…the struggle for human rightsis an eternal struggle in which final victory can never be won. But totire in that struggle would mean the ruin of society. “

Thismay not at first seem apropos to the fourth mindfulness training, butthe struggle for human rights and against anger, hatred anddiscrimination is partly rooted in language, terms and what we say tothose we love, our friends and colleagues. We all know that when wecall children stupid or stunt their dreams, it can engender lifelonghandicaps and problems with self-esteem. History has shown us thatprejudice for those who are poor or physically challenged or are of adifferent skin color has caused great pain and suffering because of theracial, ethnic or religious slurs spoken in anger or hatred. How wetalk to colleagues on our jobs can determine how productive we are inour goals. Sometimes our harshest and most hurtful words are directedat those we love the most. Words can create wars and strife. What weutter makes a difference. Equally how we utter it counts as well. Ourstruggle to speak mindfully is eternal.

We will beginour discussion on Thursday with the question of how we struggle in ourdaily lives to speak mindfully in a world that often inundates us withthe urge to engage in negative hurtful speech and how as a community wecan influence others to speak mindfully as well. Please join us.

A related reading from Thay is below.

Peace and Love,

Paul Flippin

________________________________________________________________

Thich Nhat Hanh from True Love, in the chapter titled “Everybody Should Practice Mindfulness”

…thereis a great deal of hatred and anger and discrimination. How is itpossible…for people to practice deep looking with the aim of achievinga deep knowledge…So it is necessary to practice mindfulness – it couldbe Buddhist or Christian – but it is necessary to bring mindfulness toour everyday life. If you are a journalist, a teacher, or a filmmakeryou should practice mindfulness – for the sake of your own calm andyour own happiness, but also for other people as well. Because we needyour calm, your compassion, your understanding. So we should be mindfulas individuals, but also as a community, as a family, as a nation.

Discussion Date: Thu, Apr 12, 2007


Share:

February 2023
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, January 29

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, January 30

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, January 31

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, February 1

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, February 2

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, February 3

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, February 4

Mindful Artmaking

Sun, February 5

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, February 6

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, February 7

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, February 8

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, February 9

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, February 10

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, February 11
Sun, February 12

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, February 13

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, February 14

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, February 15

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, February 16

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, February 17

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, February 18
Sun, February 19

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, February 20

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, February 21

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, February 22

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, February 23

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, February 24

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, February 25
Sun, February 26

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, February 27

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, February 28

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Tuesday Evening Gaithersburg Group

Wed, March 1

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, March 2

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, March 3

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, March 4

Mindful Artmaking