Stability in Times of Change

Stability in Times of Change

Discussion date: Thu, Aug 26, 2021 at our weekly Thursday evening practice
Silver Spring, Maryland, Community Online on Thursday Evening
August 26, 2021, 7:00 to 8:45 pm
Open to all Online on Friday Evening
August 27, 2021, 7:00 to 8:45 pm

Dearest Still Water Friends,

In the past few weeks, I have had a growing sense of discomfort. I feel thrown off balance by changes around me. The first change was health related. I had a diagnosis of Raynaud’s syndrome (an auto-immune disease), a string of minor illnesses, and low energy. The news about covid variants and safety guidelines are constantly changing as well. I got comfortable with post-vaccine freedoms and wanted them to be set in stone. Finally, there have been many natural and political global disruptions. I felt unsteady and rattled.

Since I have worked hard to make friends with the reality of impermanence and have even been heard to say with confidence that “change is the only thing we can really count on,” I was surprised by my reaction.

I asked myself the question, “How do I find stability in times of change?”

The answers came: mindfulness, meditation, the practice of the eightfold path, the mindfulness trainings, my family and loved ones, the sangha, writing, mindful walking, singing etc. The list went on.

There are so many ways to “ride the waves” of life. I imagined an accomplished surfer, balanced on a wave, standing in perfect concentration and confidence. Like the surfer, I can also stand in balance and stability as change swirls around me. When I topple and fall, my mindfulness practice helps me climb back on, come back to myself, and ride the waves again.

I invite you to consider these questions for our Dharma discussion:

  • What throws you off balance?
  • What practices can you turn to in times of change?
  • How do you nurture stability?

Another practice that is immensely helpful to me is connecting with Mother Earth. She is solid, changing, firm and fluid, all at once. During our time together on Thursday and Friday evening we will listen to Stability, a guided meditation on Mother Earth, written by Thich Nhat Hanh and read by Sister True Dedication.

I look forward to being with you, dear Sangha.

Below is a Plum Village practice song that I find helpful.

Linda Jackson


The Buddha’s Enduring Counsel — Still Water Online Fall Practice Retreat, Friday, October 8 – Sunday, October 10, 2021


If you are active on social media, please support Still Water by following us on Instagram and Facebook:
                


Island of the Self
Plum Village Practice Song

Breathing in, I go back

To the island within myself.

There are beautiful trees within the island.

There are clear streams of water

There are birds, sunshine and fresh air. Breathing out, I feel safe.

I enjoy going back to my island.

in: Dharma Topics
Discussion Date: Thu, Aug 26, 2021


Share:

November 2021
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, October 31 Mon, November 1

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Tue, November 2 Wed, November 3 Thu, November 4 Fri, November 5 Sat, November 6

Mindful Artmaking

Sun, November 7 Mon, November 8

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Tue, November 9 Wed, November 10 Thu, November 11 Fri, November 12 Sat, November 13
Sun, November 14 Mon, November 15

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Tue, November 16 Wed, November 17 Thu, November 18 Fri, November 19 Sat, November 20
Sun, November 21 Mon, November 22

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Tue, November 23 Wed, November 24 Thu, November 25 Fri, November 26 Sat, November 27
Sun, November 28 Mon, November 29

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Tue, November 30 Wed, December 1 Thu, December 2 Fri, December 3 Sat, December 4

Mindful Artmaking