Sustaining a Practice

Sustaining a Practice

Discussion date: Thu, Sep 04, 2008 at our weekly Thursday evening practice

Dear Still Water Friends,

It’s 10:30pm, I’m tired, and I am so wishing I hadn’t waited until now to write this email! It’s going to be a short one.
 
Tomorrow we will have our monthlyStill Water orientation for newcomers at 6:30pm. Beginners, seasoned practitioners,and everyone in between are most welcome.
 
And during our dharma discussion at 8pm, I’d like to invite you into a conversation about sustaining a practice – thejoy, gratitude, frustration, anxiety,acceptance, self-judgment, and whatever else comes up as we try tonurture a lifelongmindfulness practice. What works for you and what doesn’t. How yourbody, mind, and heart work together — or at cross-purposes. Think ofit as “open mike” for anyone who wantsto share.

See you then!

Warmly,
Peter Cook



Wehave to go back to our society with the intention to rebuild societyand enrich its life by offering the appropriate therapies for itsillnesses. I would like to offer an exercise that can help to do this.It is called Touching the Earth.

In each of us,there are many kinds of ideas, notions, attachments, anddiscrimination. This practice involves bowing down and touching theEarth, emptying ourselves, and surrendering to Earth.

You touch the Earth with your forehead, your two hands, your two feet,and you surrender to your true nature, accepting any form of life yourtrue nature offers you. Surrender your pride, hopes, ideas, fears, andnotions. Empty yourself of all resentment you feel toward anyone.Surrender everything, and empty yourself completely. To do this is thebest way to replenish yourself. If you do not exhale and empty yourlungs, how can fresh air enter?

                                                               Thich Nhat Hanh

 

Discussion Date: Thu, Sep 04, 2008


Share:

January 2022
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, December 26 Mon, December 27

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Tue, December 28 Wed, December 29 Thu, December 30 Fri, December 31 Sat, January 1

Mindful Artmaking

Sun, January 2 Mon, January 3

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Tue, January 4 Wed, January 5 Thu, January 6 Fri, January 7 Sat, January 8
Sun, January 9 Mon, January 10

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Tue, January 11 Wed, January 12 Thu, January 13 Fri, January 14 Sat, January 15
Sun, January 16 Mon, January 17

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Tue, January 18 Wed, January 19 Thu, January 20 Fri, January 21 Sat, January 22
Sun, January 23 Mon, January 24

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Tue, January 25 Wed, January 26 Thu, January 27 Fri, January 28 Sat, January 29
Sun, January 30 Mon, January 31

Morning Meditation at Crossings

Tue, February 1 Wed, February 2 Thu, February 3 Fri, February 4 Sat, February 5

Mindful Artmaking