The River of Life — Our Ancestors in Us

Ancestors: Wilton and Pauline Flippin circa 1943.

The River of Life — Our Ancestors in Us

Discussion date: Thu, May 19, 2022 at our weekly Thursday evening practice

Thursday Evening Online Program

May 19, 2022, 7:00 to 8:45 pm Eastern Time

Dear Still Water Friends,

A recurring theme in the teachings of Thich Nhat Hanh (Thay) and in our Dharma sharing on Thursdays is that we are a continuation of our ancestors. Their experiences and responses condition how we see, feel, and think —  indeed, who we are as individuals. In a recent podcast, Br. Phap Huu, a senior Plum Village monk, remembered Thay emphasizing the importance of ancestors when he said, “When I meet somebody, I never meet that person as an individual, I meet their entire lineage.”

I have had the privilege of facilitating the Three and Five Touchings of the Earth at Still Water gatherings. Each time, I have been moved by Thay’s awareness of the intimate connection between our blood and spiritual ancestors and our suffering, our joy, and our mindfulness. This Thursday evening, after our meditation period, we will read together the “The River of Life,” a guided meditation from Thay’s book, The Touchings of the Earth:

Lord Buddha, I am aware that in me there is a river of life that contains my ancestors and my descendants. All generations of my spiritual and blood ancestors are present in me. I am their continuation. I do not have a separate self. I am practicing to let go of everything that I think is myself or belongs to me, so that I can become one with this river of life. This river of life is flowing in me. My spiritual ancestors are the Buddha, the bodhisattvas, the holy community of practice and ancestral teachers throughout all generations. That river includes my spiritual teachers of this lifetime, whether they are still on this Earth or whether they have passed away. They are present in me. They have transmitted to me seeds of peace, understanding, love, and happiness. Thanks to them I have the resource of peace, joy, insight, and compassion within me, even if it is still small. In the river of my spiritual ancestors, there are those whose practice of the precepts, understanding, and compassion is fully realized. There are also those whose practice of precepts, understanding, and compassion has had shortcomings. I bow my head and accept all my spiritual ancestors, realized and not realized, because in myself there are weaknesses and shortcomings as far as the practice of precepts, understanding, and compassion is concerned. I open my heart and accept all my spiritual descendants, those whose practice of precepts and understanding is worthy of praise as well as those who are difficult for me and have ups and downs on their path of practice.

I accept all my ancestors on my mother’s and my father’s sides of the family with all their virtues, meritorious actions, and shortcomings. I also open my heart and accept all my blood descendants with their virtues, their talents, and their shortcomings. My spiritual and blood descendants and my spiritual and blood ancestors are all present in me. I am they and they are me. I do not have a separate self. We are all present in a wonderful stream of life that is constantly flowing and changing in a marvelous way.

Touching the Earth

Lord Buddha, I touch the earth three times to let go of the idea that I am a self separate from my ancestors and my descendants, and to release all the irritation and anger that I still hold towards them.

In our Dharma sharing this Thursday, we will enter the flow of the river and explore the continuation of our ancestors in our lives and our practice.

  • When do we recognize in our bodies and thoughts the wisdom, happiness, and accomplishments of our ancestors?
  • When do we recognize their thoughtlessness, sorrows, and defeats?

You are invited to join us.

Warm wishes,

Paul Flippin

in: Dharma Topics
Discussion Date: Thu, May 19, 2022


Share:

December 2022
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, November 27

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, November 28

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, November 29

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Wed, November 30

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, December 1

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, December 2

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, December 3

Mindful Artmaking

Sun, December 4

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, December 5

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, December 6

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Wed, December 7

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, December 8

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, December 9

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, December 10
Sun, December 11

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, December 12

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, December 13

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Wed, December 14

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, December 15

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, December 16

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, December 17
Sun, December 18

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, December 19

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, December 20

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Wed, December 21

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, December 22

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, December 23

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, December 24
Sun, December 25

Columbia Sunday Evening Practice

Mon, December 26

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Friends in Different Places

Tue, December 27

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Wed, December 28

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Spanish-Speaking Online Practice

Still Water Kent Island

Thu, December 29

Takoma Park Morning Meditation

Fri, December 30

Silver Spring Morning Meditation

Sat, December 31